Setting Goals & Progress (Self-Teaching)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Setting Goals & Progress (Self-Teaching)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Setting Goals & Progress (Self-Teaching)

I am a relative beginner (see my sketchbook for examples) and have no idea how to set goals from myself for drawing. If anything, it's something vague like 'draw better', 'improve figure drawing' or 'draw more', which aren't really goals at all. I can't do something like 'be able to draw at level x by the 20th' because there are no levels and I can't control improvement at will- I can only practice and draw draw draw. Also, it doesn't seem practical to 'improve body part x' since all parts are equally bad at my level (am I wrong?) Also, trying to set goals of time or quantity (x hours, x pages) seems like it should be a secondary goal at most — one could draw unchallenging stuff for hours, or scribble quickly until they fill their page quota.

So when someone says to set artistic goals, what do they mean?

How can I make a 'curriculum' or lesson plan for my drawing? There are no schools or workshops in my area, so I have to teach myself. How do I find what would be best for me?
    Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by LukeTores; May 28th, 2006 at 08:49 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    you're using the scientific part of your brain too much here. drawing isn't quantum physics, it's fun! just fuckin draw and it'll all sort itself out.

obviously you will reach a point where you might make a conscious decision to, say, improve the dynamics of your work, or your facial expressions etc. but by the sounds of it you are at a stage where you should just draw whatever appeals to you at that particular moment, till your hand falls off.