Need advice~

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Need advice~

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy Need advice~

Probably a question that has been asked asked a few times but, I can't seem to find a thread anywhere.

I'm in my second year in game art (Mostly 3D) and I've realized I want to focus more in conceptual design (more 2D than 3D). I'm not sure if I should finish my bachelors degree in Game Art or switch over to Illustration. If I finish my bachelors in Game Art will my 3D skills be used much for conceptual design? I enjoy doing 2D conceptuals much more than modeling / texturing 3D...

for example.... stuff more of the lines of Feng Zhu, Craig Mullins, Ryan Church, Linda Bergkvist....

So should I just tough out Game Art out or switch to illustration?? ><;....

I'm curious to know if anyone knows of any illustration schools that kind of stand out from the rest. Something very challenging and geared towards more commercial art. A school that is mostly geared towards digital media rather than traditional media. If this helps looking for a very "Modern" Illustration program. Tons of focus on Photoshop and Painter...

To break it down looking for a school that specifically specializes in conceptual design: character design, enviromental, vehicles..everything

Thanks

Last edited by Daniel Bragg, Jr.; May 17th, 2006 at 12:16 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    #1 There are currently no schools (as yet!) that offer a concept design major or focus.

#2 There are few schools that offer a purely digital media focus.