Challenging Financial Aid Problems! Help Needed!
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Challenging Financial Aid Problems! Help Needed!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Challenging Financial Aid Problems! Help Needed!

I'm a student at the Savannah College of Art and Design an expensive school but now I'm a sophomore now so I'm pretty much stuck there.

Last winter I was in class with some financial aid but not enough for the rest of the year now I'm out of school and I'm trying to scrape together enough cash to
    pay to next quarter (summer quarter) and to pay about $4,450 of back tuition.

I know this looks bad but getting into college and having the funding for it and living expenses and art supplies is not easy when you have been primarily doing all of this alone and some of the time working at 2 jobs and being a full time student. I recently stopped working and I have got my mother to co-sign for student loans from private institutions. The plan was to get $30,000 a portion of it would be put away to collect interest in savings so that I could use it to pay back interest and financial cost after graduation. But there was some hic-up in my mother credit and now I can't get that loan disbursement I have tried other lenders and up to now no luck.

This financial matter has affected me on so many levels that I'm surprised that I'm not insane or surrendering to all the pressure. I have seen other students that are in similar situations while there are the others that have parents pay their tab or the others that earn really nice scholarships.

My question is: Can anyone advise me on a way to solve this problem of not be able to find education funding other than just the FAFSA? Is there a very lending institution that is more flexible and has lower standards than a company like Astrive or Nextstudent.? What about grants does anyone know about grants other than the typical pell grant type?