Drawing hollow circles in Photoshop
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Drawing hollow circles in Photoshop

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Drawing hollow circles in Photoshop

    I'd like to have a figure art construction layer with computer drawn circles and straight lines. The lines are no problem in Photshop but the Circles really seem to be a pain.

    Am I missinge something super fundamentally basic? How do you draw a circle outline in Photoshop without subtracting a second smaller solid circle from a first?


    Appreciate any help.

    Sigurd

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    204
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Use the circular selection tool (shift-M), then right-click and select "stroke"... location inside and width of 1 pixel works well as a construction aid.

    Also known as Iikka Keränen

    Digital Eel
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,287
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    or set the "circle" tool to path only and stroke the path. amounts to the same thing.
    You set how the shape tools work on the properties bar when the tool is selected.


    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    221
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 22 Times in 12 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Awesome. I've wondered about this too.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,648
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 152 Posts
    Follows
    1
    Following
    0
    circles??? well.. I usually use.. a circular marquee and then fill it with any colour then apply layer style, that way you have control over width, colour, blending mode and the position of the stroke. Once you are done you just change the fill to 0% leaving only the layer style visible.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Thank You

    Thank You, Thank You, Thank You.


    It was one of those annoying things I absolutely felt I should know.

    I like the Stroke command with a 2 pixel thickness - and you can quote me!


    Sigurd

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,173
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 98 Times in 35 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    my trick is circular shape, fill pixels, layerstyle stroke, fill 0%, create layers.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    As Glikster wrote.

    Take the "shape tool to path" and then make your circle.

    Now save the path so you can use it later on...

    Then selest the brush you like, also the thickness you want to have the outline.
    go to path palette and click on "fill path outline with brush" (path has to be activated!).

    Thats it.

    And if you like to do another similar circle, or a smaller one then just take the path and move or transform it and then same procedure.

    The same if you have already a path of an object, you can use the path to fill with a brush.

    Very simple!

    (Hope the translation of the tools is correct, because I use a german version)

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Try this:

    Make an action that strokes a selection and then deselects the selection.

    Set that action to a function key, say F4.

    Now, all you need to do to create a circle is to make a circlular marquee selection, and then hit a button. Works great.

    -Dave

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •