Alien Savannah
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Alien Savannah

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Alien Savannah

This creature is my first attempt at fur, but i'm reasonably happy with that. What I need advice on is the backgound and grass/clay etc.

I have, basically, no idea of technique regarding grass/ground. Any tips?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 3,344 Times in 1,123 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Really good so far Nice sinewy flesh and alien feel.

There's something that's throwing me off about the perspective though. The little stream looks like it's a river viewed from far away, and the rest of the background (the 'mountains' I guess) make it seem like the alien is HUGE.

No real tips I guess, I'm not very good at environmental stuff, but right now the grass is the only thing that keeps the alien from appearing to be 200 feet tall (at least in my eyes)

Great job and happy painting

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Why are you worrying about the grass?
    It looks great how it is.

Seriously, I like it. Its the sky that looks too empty... Sort that out. But the creature and ground look really good.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    yeah, the creature looks great. Like the guy above say why are you worrying about the grass?

I have to agree that because the river look small, make your creature looks HUGE.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Now now, he worries because he cares. If you want good ground, practice ground. Snap some mundane photos and paint em. See what you think. Or, post them and see what we think.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I like this.

You want some tips about the ground? Maybe you should put in more values. Put some red in it. There are often lots of different colors in the ground. Add some small rocks or pebbles. Maybe you can make it more purple/blue towards the horizon to give it a bit more depth.