Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Why do you do art?

I'm a creature designer myself, and draw not for love of art itself [I find it frustrating alot of the time, and havn't been in the so called 'zone' much], but because I love designing alien life, and making [or trying to make] biologically and scientifically sound creatures. I actually hate art theory, life drawing etc. and find it rather uninteresting.

My question is, who here likes art for art's sake, and who enjoys designing and working out new concepts more than the execution? Does anyone else not enjoy art theory and practise?

If you don't like the theory, what drives you onwards anyway?
    Last edited by Reality Forge; April 18th, 2006 at 08:51 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Life and everything that mimics it is what inspires me,
    I enjoy drawing the things around me, and animating them when i get back home.
    I am curious enough to be inquisitive about the theory and history of art but i'd never study it.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Reality Forge
    I'm a creature designer myself, and draw not for love of art itself [I find it frustrating alot of the time, and havn't been in the so called 'zone' much], but because I love designing alien life, and making [or trying to make] biologically and scientifically sound creatures. I actually hate art theory, life drawing etc. and find it rather uninteresting.

My question is, who here likes art for art's sake, and who enjoys designing and working out new concepts more than the execution? Does anyone else not enjoy art theory and practise?

If you don't like the theory, what drives you onwards anyway?