Thanks

Comics page rates in USA???

Hi there!

I have recently got in touch with an american comics publisher and they are interested by my artwork. And they asked me my page rate... As a French artist, I really have no idea about rates in use oversea. I have found this on the web:

Here is a GUIDE for PENCILING page rates:

Beginning rates
    $80/page - $100/page
    $1880/comic - $2350/comic

After 5 working years
    $175/page - $200/page
    $4112.50/comic - $4700/comic

It's only for penciling, that means only elaborate sketches, right?
    Someone could give me more details about that? I am not really a beginning artist as I have already drew two comics in the past and I work as an illustrator for nearly 10 years.
    Many thanks for any reply!!!

Cheers,
    Swal

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    My friend... who I am not ever going to name works for Tookyoo(omg I took 3 years of Nihongo and I can't spell Tookyoo!) pop here in America.. and his page rate for pencils only is an astounding 10 dollars....a page with no bonus for anything, as near as we can tell.
    In case your not familiar with them, them make manga books, I'm not sure if this at all applies to you, you might be talking marvel or Image, in which case you could likely demand some decent sort of compensation for your efforts!
    Last edited by grudge; March 31st, 2006 at 05:06 AM.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,478 Times in 470 Posts
    10 dollars a page? Do they charge extra for the kick in the balls too? From what I gather and by the standards of the Graphic Artists and Designers Guild, your rates look reasonable Swal.
    "Every little step considered one at a time is not terribly daunting" - Ethan Coen

New books and process DVD available NOW!

www.dvpalumbo.com

Quickie blog (nudity)

Thanks