Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Oil Panting Help

Hey all,

I have decided to pick up some oil painting, but I have never done it before. So I have a few questions:

1. Do I need pro oil paints or will the lower quality student's oil paints work for starting up?

2. What are the best colours to start out with that are absolutely neccesary in my painting kit? (please give full colour names)

3. Brushes best suitable? Round, flat, natural, synthetic....?

4. Other props that I need?? Linseed oil? Turpentine?

5. ohh forgot, how big the tube? How long does one last, they re quite expensive ....?

Any other advice?

Thanks, all help will be greatly appreciated

Edite
    SKETCHBOOK

Sinister Six Sketch Group
    Since 2003, sorta.
    Cookiedough Fooxoo Hyver Wolfje character

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    The student quality paint will be just fine for your needs. The difference between them and the pro-paints is noticable, but you don't want to spend a lot of money if you're not sure that it's something you're going to continue doing.

Absolutely necessary colours? You'll get a lot of varying opinions on the subject. If you're just starting out, cadmium red middle, alizarin crimson, yellow ochre, cadmium yellow middle, viridian green, ultramarine blue, burnt sienna, burnt umber and titanium white would probably do you just fine (anybody else, feel free to contradict me on this!). Black can be useful but beginners have the tendency to misuse it, so I'd stay away from it if you're just starting out.

For brushes, get a variety of sizes and shapes. The rule of thumb I've found is that for oil, get natural bristles, and for acrylic, get synthetic. Whatever works for you though. Just don't spend too much money! A $5 brush is still a brush and it's better to wear it out now and get another one later than spend $40 on a brush and realise you'll almost never use it.