distortedrealty Guest

techniques for better protraits??

Hey guys, in new to the forums, just joined today, but ive been looking around for a while and i am constantly blown away at the amount of talent here! hopefully you guys can help me.

i just started drawing portraits in perspective, im a bit shaky at them, but im managing... i wanted to ask if there are certain excersizes i can do to improve on the perspective and total quality of my drawings.
    i was reading a post earlier where somone said that you should draw the shapes of your face to get better... i really dont understand this...if someone can elaborate id really appreciate
    oh and can someone explain tecniques on starting a drawing? do you guys start out with guides, draw a sphere (like in the loomis books) or just start wherever you feel like.

thanks!!!

you huys can check out some of my drawing at my website

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,435 Times in 2,935 Posts
    If i were you I would start by doing master copies...thats how artists have traditionally learned to do it...copy heads by rembrandt, sargent, michealangelo, leonardo, raphael,

do studies of old master drawings in particular...dont copy the paintings to start...go get a good book of old master drawings and copy every single one of them in there if you can...hahah..well at least as many as you can possibly do. Ive done at least a hundred master copies or more of drawings and such...

the copies should look as close as possible to the originals.

if you do this...then you can see how they make marks...make forms...make shapes.....make SPACE...make expression...etc...