Thanks

A1 size poster with 300 dpi

Hi everyone, i'm new here. And i need some advices regarding resolution in pixels. I'm planning to take part in a contest, and it requires the size of the digital painting in A1 poster size with 300 dpi. But when i tried it out in photoshop to start a new file with that specs, the file resolution pixels goes up to 9900 x 7000 ++ (somewhere there, i didn't record down). By seeing the pixels amounts, it definitely will lag or even hang my pc for a big time while i do the painting. In fact, i'm still new in digital painting. So, i really hope some of you experts could give me some advices on how and what to do about this situation. Or there's only one way? Buy a new super PC?
    THanks everyone. Looking forward to hear from you all.
    Digitize the Digital, Change the Dragon to Cable.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    I dont know how your photoshop is set up but 9900 is easly 25in or even more. For me 4000 is 11in possibly a bit more. Set it to 300dpi then go after the file size and take it back down to 11x17. That should help in taking the pixels down. If not then just take it down a bit more. I dont know why they would ask for 300dpi for no printer can really do that normal *75-100dpi is normaly used* I work at around 3000x2000 pixels at 300dpi on all of my digital images. Just fool around with it a bit more in trying to keep the pixel size down.
    If that dont work... well I dont know what to tell you. It should not lag really for I work large on a MAC laptop with 80% of the time with Newtech Lightwave *fullverson* open as well and it only lags when I hop from program to program. Then it works fine for me. Fool around with it a bit and see how it works.

Thanks