Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
    Thanks

Continuity Break -- Feb 20: A Valkyrie's Journey (large images)

i've been doing fantasy/sci-fi art on a personal basis for 'bout 40+ years but with some major gaps in my attention to drawing & painting. i'm sort of catching up with myself now thanks to CA, and finally have some stuff i feel good about posting in a CA sketchbook.

i may also toss in a few sketches from long ago -- there's some i want to develop into paintings now I have my skills up to par.

this is stuff i've done as prep & studies for some portfolio-directed work, based on characters and concepts from the series of Chanur novels by C.J. Cherryh. i'm calling the project "Chanur" (Ms. Cherryh says that's OK). they're presented in roughly the order they were done.

quick 10min pose -- the hani are a bipedal felinoid species, interstellar traders

foundational work

a fast, fast character sketch -- this one's Khym, a male hani.

a female hani -- may expand this into the main character, Pyanfar, captain of the Chanur clan's star freighter The Pride of Chanur

Haral, Pyanfar's second in command on the Pride, her oldest friend and & partner in dockside adventures. one tough hani woman.

i anticipate much more to come -- with five other species + a human character, spaceships & stations, ET homeworld enviros, basically five novels' worth of material to indulge myself with, it looks to be fun.

Name:  VA_SBicon.jpg
Views: 3264
Size:  31.8 KB

Last edited by masque; February 21st, 2007 at 12:27 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    wow dude those are quite well done. gonna pm u .

-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

Thanks
    incremental update:
    the kif species plays the role of the principal bad guys in the Chanur novels, though there's lots of other conflicts and subplots. these fast thumbs are notes for developing characters in scenes i have in mind.