Sketchbook: Journey of another absolute rookie

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Journey of another absolute rookie

Hello everyone. After seeing mindcandyman's thread, I thought why not give it a shot? I used to draw since I was a kid, but I stopped a few years ago because I was simply not learning anything, I didn't even know about learning how to draw (anatomy, perspective, etc). Last year I attempted to draw again but felt that the task was impossible. I'm now a 3D modeler (still a student, finishing in 3 months), but I believe a good 3D artist with no 2D skills is no artist, and I think it is viewed as such in the industry. So I must get to work, continue to improve my 3D while learning 2D. But as far as 2D is concerned, I am starting anew. I'll get a scanner soon and a bigger tablet (the one I have is a 5x4 Graphire 2).

I hope you guys will be there to give your advices. If you have any tasks in mind to suggest me for practice please do so. If there is something wrong with the way I paint (and there is!) let me know.

Here is the terrible beginning!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Pretty good for a terrible beginning. I religously suggest getting a copy of The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brian. I've found this book more educational and insightful that any other how to draw book.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for the comment. I remember some stuff from that book. It's cheap so I will probably get.

Anyway here is today's post, I just started 40 mins ago or so. I'll probably update it later tonight. I'm using a photo as reference, but no sketch was made, I'm just painting along to get a better feel of the thing. Next time I'll block in all proportions first before starting to paint.