Lack of Confidence, or Lack of Talent?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Lack of Confidence, or Lack of Talent?

Seeing as how I'm a college freshman with a sizable loan to pay back, I've decided to do something in the way of making money while I'm at school-- mainly, I want to sell commissions.

My problem, however, is one that I've run in to over and over again throughout the years: I just don't think I'm good enough. It's a line of thinking that's kept me from countless opportunities in my high school years, and one that I definitely want to cure myself of now that I'm going to be spending four years trying to market myself. I'm pleased to admit that the short quarter and a half I've been here has given me a great confidence boost, but I'm still worried about my work in a practical sense- would anyone actually WANT to buy something from me? So I put it to jury with you CA.org folks, who are more knowledgeable than me in such matters.

I don't have my most recent work to show, but the following two pictures represent my level about eight months ago...I'll have newer images sometime this week, since I need to start compiling a digital portfolio for scholarships.

http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/19818285/
    http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/18069885/ (Forgive the HORRIFIC pink background on this...it makes me twitch every time I see it. I didn't get photoshop until a few weeks ago, so I'm definitely going to go back and fix that picture when time allows.)

Any opinions on the matter would be greatly appreciated. For the record, my abilities are NOT limited to fanart, those two just happen to be my best and most recent digital works. Anyway, I know the answers are probably going to be harsh, but I don't mind; I need a good kick in the pants anyway. Thank you in advance!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote