Thanks

Art Infringement...?

I'm sure this has been addressed from time to time but nonetheless....I drew a picture in 2003 and posted it on my website, two online galleries and on Zazzle (I made a t-shirt out of the image). Well, I was made aware this evening that on the Wizards of the Coast website there is a picture on a card game of theirs that resembles mine. A lot. I mean the character looks like mine, is doing the same thing mine is and even has a similiar name as my picture.
    My question is...I can prove (through the online galleries and Zazzle) that my picture was created in 2003 so should I go to the artist that did the painting or should I go to the art director of Wizards of the Coast? Do I even have a chance in Hell of any benefit from this? I'm not so concerned about money (although it would be nice!), but I would like some recognition.
    I'm really new to this, so any help would be great.
    Please visit my gallery at http://drawnblud.deviantart.com/

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    I think a good first step for advice would be to post the two images, just to make sure you're not over-reacting (no offense).

Ilaekae is offline P.O.W.! Leader, Complete Idiot, Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,581 Times in 1,789 Posts
    ...beat me to it...

Thanks
    Indeed. It may strike close to home.. but if I had a nickel for all the times I've seen a painting of a barbairan warrior fighting some trolls, I would be a very rich man.
    * Help a CA artist! Visit the Constructive Critique section! *

Thanks
    Here are the two pictures.
    His is called "Moloch, the Eater of Children"
    Art Infringement...?

Mine is called "Ba'Lok the Eater of Children"
    Art Infringement...?

Here are two links that have the date that I uploaded the picture on them. This is the first version of the picture that I did.....
    http://www.artwanted.com/imageview.cfm?id=29531