Art: Redemption

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Redemption

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Redemption

Hello, everyone! I'm a self-taught artist and this is basically my only really finished picture so far. It involves some of the characters from my stories, the main one being the lady with red hair.

This is a very allegorical picture, and all the plants stand for certain things. (For instance, the sunflowers mean "adoration, adoring"; and the nightshade berries in the central woman's hair stand for "enchantment, spell."

Anyway, I hope you like it! I know it's not a great picture, but I think it's pretty good! The entire scene was drawn in pencil, scanned, and then colored/painted over a little/glazed with color in Photoshop.

Thanks in advance for commenting!

P.S. I would LOVE to hear what you think is going on!

Redemption
    Redemption

Close-ups:

Central Woman:
    Redemption

Knight:
    Redemption

Knight's Lady:
    Redemption

Minstrel/Bard:
    Redemption

Death/Evil:
    Redemption

Last edited by Andrea Smith; December 3rd, 2005 at 09:36 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I agree, it's a good picture. The detail shots are a little much though. Also, consider shading with more colors, rather than with black and white. The picture would really be effective if it weren't for the muddy coloring.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    My crit is that there is SO much going on in this image that I have no idea where to look, and my attention is never spent on any one thing for any decent length of time. Thusly, I do not even notice a lot of the symbolism or allegorical details. This image could easily be seperated into several different images.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following