almost 29 and unsure what to do...

View testimonialsView Artwork
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

almost 29 and unsure what to do...

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum, but it's so nice to be inspired by so many talented artists! Please bear with me as I post another thread about education...

My dilemma is that I am 28 (almost 29) and would like to work in the entertainment industry in games or film as a character artist. I am currently a full-time web/graphic designer, but my main strength has always been illustration and I've been drawing characters since I don't know when. I'm trying to make a career change, but am at a loss as to what next step I should take.

Realistically, I know this is a long term goal - this will not happen quickly. What I am thinking of is strategizing a way to position myself to 'eventually' get to that level. I will always have to draw and take classes to improve myself, regardless of what happens. The question is what should I do to 'get my foot in the door' so I can maneuver? I would not mind 3D modeling or doing 2D Texturing - should I approach my studies in this way (of course while working my art) ? Or should I go back to school in an arts program? Should I be daunted by a 2nd B.A in illustration at my age (b/c I feel daunted)? I guess I just feel late in the game

I am not afraid of learning on my own, but would like to hear opinions on whether going back to school (probably an art school) would be recommended. Please be as honest and realistic as you can about my situation - I would like to hear what you would do in my position.

Thanks for reading!
    moraisins

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Do it and die trying. Quit trying to nurse your ego and self esteem and just do.

Ignore people, a lot of them are a'holes.

Be successful and get revenge.....without being vengeful.

If you're married, forget what I said.