i would KILL to be an artist!!!!1111 (heated fucking rant)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

i would KILL to be an artist!!!!1111 (heated fucking rant)

[heated rant]

You ever get this? I know our profession is cool, its cool beyond words, I'm beyond ecstatic on a daily basis that I get to do this for a living...but when people say "I would KILL to be doing what you are doing!" I get a little peeved.

Firstly, no, you would not fucking kill to do what I do, because you wouldn't even give up drinking on the weekends and wasting away your nights watching TV. You are not up until 3am in the morning studying the complexity that is the human form in all its varied and complex systems. You are not running through endless reels of paper trying to understand a design concept that simply will no click, you are not sacrificing your personal time to constantly move your art to a higher level, you are not building your motor skills to a fine point by thousands of repetition.

Thats the trouble with a lot of people I feel, they would KILL to have something that takes a lot of work to get to, if they could have that thing magically in the form of a "red pill". Its the reason why people buy lottery tickets, its the reason why people put up with shit jobs they hate and end up dying a wasted life bitching about it until the bitter end.

If people understood the level of sacrifice most artists has to endure, they would NOT be envious, but we occupy a higher ground and plane of awareness that I feel many other people are not forced to develop.

The other day I got rid of one of my jr artists, because they simply were not pulling their weight - this girl was hired before I was instated as an art director and I was lumped with this pathetic excuse for an artist.