Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Brush size loses pressure sensitivity

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .sg
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Brush size loses pressure sensitivity

    I'm not sure exactly what triggers it, but when I paint in Photoshop 7 sometimes the brush size will stop responding to my pen pressure (i.e. the brush size will remain constant).

    Occassionally I get the problem after alt-tabbing out of Photoshop, but this doesn't happen 100% of the time so I am not sure. I was wondering if maybe there's a hotkey I'm pressing that's killing the pressure sensitivity? Or if there's a quick way to restore it without having to restart Photoshop.



    By the way I experience this problem using both my Intuos3 and Graphire3 in Win 2000, XP, and ME. So I'm pretty sure the problem is Photoshop 7.
    It's got to be more than a memory, or is life just a fantasy and a piss in the sand?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    On the fringes of "acceptable" observation and commentary.
    Posts
    2,347
    Thanks
    255
    Thanked 136 Times in 60 Posts
    You could be causing the problem with the Alt-tabbing out of PS.

    PS retains cache memory that can snafu things if you don't exit "cleanly" out of PS. Add to that a drawing tablet with its own ideosyncracies, and you may be asking for trouble.

    I run 7.01 with 9x12 Intuos and Intuous2 tablets, and have NEVER had that problem.
    You might also be sure that you have the Shape Dynamics box checked in your Brush Palette...

    ~M
    Change is Inevitable, Growth is Optional
    I am The Choosen One!
    Jason sez: Draw more from Life!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,033
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 216 Times in 91 Posts
    I have this problem also sometimes...i fix it by changing to flash and drawing some brush strokes there...the pen gets it's pressure behaviour again in ps then...or if you don't have another software with pressure sensitivity it works also when clicking the checkbox on the brush settings where it sais pressure sensitivity...using CS2, so i don't know if it will work on PS 7...
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Similar Threads

  1. pressure sensitivity always on!
    By Jamesbiff in forum PHOTOSHOP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 6th, 2011, 04:14 PM
  2. Intuos loses pressure in CS3
    By dusty imp in forum WACOM
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 13th, 2009, 03:23 PM
  3. brush question, more pressure = smaller size?
    By archipelago in forum PHOTOSHOP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 27th, 2007, 04:11 PM
  4. Pressure sensitivity
    By Dose206 in forum PAINTER
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2007, 04:03 AM
  5. Brush size change by pressure?
    By GriNGo in forum PAINTER
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 31st, 2007, 02:04 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook