Sketchbook: Madfishmonger's sketchbook

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Madfishmonger's sketchbook

Hello! I'm new here, and looking for some help to improve my drawing.

Just messing around with some watercolour pencils, it's a stuffed giraffe my friend has.

My hand

From a photo of my cat Xerxes, done with a friend's fancy markers.

random studies

A statue of a frog. Shading not so good.

My foot.

A quick sketch of my friend's rabbit. My scanner is crap, I had to darken the image. Her ear is all messed up.

Since I'm obviously in need of some anatomy work, I started drawing this cat skeleton. I've only just started, and it's been surprisingly hard, but I think I'm getting the feel of it.

I can't say I'm not a little frustrated by the decline my art has taken, but at the same time, I've rid myself of a lot of bad habits. I spent a lot of time as a mopey goth, drawing other people's comics and not enough time developing my own style, and after that, my sketchbooks gathered dust. Though I am finding this is giving me a chance to start all over and (hopefully) learn it right. So please, some helpful critiques and specific techniques will be greatly appreciated.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Madfishmonger; June 6th, 2008 at 11:55 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hey, cheer up, dont mope

Keep drawing! Dont give up or anything. By the way, Moping is bad for you, so dont do it. Draw instead. Keep a daily sketchbook. Draw all the time! Pay special attention to the shapes of things. Don't draw what you htink should be there, draw what IS there.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    the giraffe at the top of the page made me smile, it looks depressed. the pic of the cat done with your friends fancy markers is nice too.