Books on perspective

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Icon Books on perspective

I started drawing a year ago, and have been drawing on and off since then. But during that whole year, I never attempted to draw a background. Probably because I knew I didn't have the technical knowledge to do so, but right now I'm in the mood to fix that.

I was wondering if any of you have experience with books on perspective in drawing. I would go and search for some tutorials online or something, but honestly, I would much rather be able to just read through a couple of hundred pages and have a good, solid understanding of perspective after that. I'm looking for something that can take me from knowing absolutely nothing about perspective to knowing all I need to know, and something I can keep on my bookshelf and grab as a reference later on.

I looked through Amazon.com, looking for books on perspective, reading through the customer reviews, but I didn't find one that I was sure about. I had someone recommend Perspective! for Comic Book Artists: How to Achieve a Professional Look in Your Artwork to me. But to be honest, I found the comic book approach more than a little discouraging. This is the only recommendation I've had so far, and I'd love some more. I figured this was the best place to ask, so please tell me if you know any good books on perspective drawing.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    same with me, but you only want to draw backgrounds, not peoples in perspective?

artwork
    nothing special....sadly....but I hope someday^^

when you want to mentor someone, you may want to come here
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...&postcount=406

Thanks
    Follows
    Following