Thanks

Does anyone have any experience with the book publishing process?

Or have any links?

I did a quick search on this and came up with a glut of useless information.

I'm doing my master trainer certificate 4 in strength training and I often illustrate the human anatomy in order to help myself understand better and it really helps and a few of my class mates also like to refer to them to more clearly see something since all we have are shitty little diagrams in our provided books.

I was talking to one of our trainers and the idea came about that the possibility of me drawing up an anatomy book specifically suited to the teachings of the course, which of course wouldn't be too much of a stretch since I do them everyweek anyway, and could be officially adopted by the training institute which is nation wide and regarded as the best training school in this field in Aust, which means nice returns + I'd end up with a reference book of all my own illustrations as well.

At the moment I am referring to about 4 different books since they all go into different levels of depth and would be convenient to have all th course info in one place.

I've got a partial scattered idea of what goes into the publishing process, but if anyone has published anything before, I'd greatly appreciate any help you could give, cheers.

m

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    well im working on and off on a book project and have found a publisher, but i think some things really depend on the publisher you work with. and on the actual printers and binders.

publishing is among other things financing a hole. you have to pay the printer, binder and distribute the book to selling points. when (if?!) the books get sold, the publisher earns his investment back. so any publisher is going to want to see a pitch (think content pages and sample pages and people involved) / manuscript of some sort - to see if its worth the risk.