The Bum-(digital portraits)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: The Bum-(digital portraits)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

The Bum-(digital portraits)

This is my first time doing portraits in Photoshop. Im looking to get better at digital painting in any way or form. The subject matter was a bum. I just drew the lineart, then made up two different lighting conditions and applied them to the images. Critique this to death!.. So I can keep improving as I continue practicing.

I included the process.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Sirio_Brozzi; September 27th, 2006 at 06:41 AM.
    TUNAFISH SAMMICHES?!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

stoph is offline Registered User Level 15 Gladiator: Spartacus' Hoplomachi
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,017 Times in 286 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    ok please promise me that, in order to improve, youll never use greys to imply shadow. thats a big no no. it flattens the image out, and is not even the slightest bit accurate. one thing you can do is take the original skin tone and lessen the saturation, deepen the value. alternatively, you can mix colours to achieve the correct shadow by selecting your original skin tone, then finding the exact opposite and applying that with a low opacity brush. yellow is to purple as green is to red, that sort of thing. youll get whatever brown is suited to the skin tone, and will achieve a more accurate shade. meh ive probably got that all wrong.. but it seems to work!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    [ my writing might be hard to read basicaly watch your forms, turn that ear in a little should be about 3/4,your showing side view. as for colors never use dark grey for your shadows.instead use a darker value of the skin tone you started with...keep it up ...hoped this helped at all

paint! you *%$#@#$ u only have 1 life!check out ilad comics at www.iladonline.com

Thanks
    Follows
    Following