Art: I need a reference book on how to use materials.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I need a reference book on how to use materials.

Hi everyone this is my 1st post on this forum.

I'm a 1st year SCAD student and an illustration major.

I have been having some trouble with my assignments. I'm asked to do projects and use certain materials for the project. For example, I had an assignment which was an optical blending self portrait in chalk pastel.
    I never worked with chalk pastel and the assignment turned out very muddy looking and impossible to correct even with fixative. Basically the problem is not being familar with new materials and there proper usages and how my assignments should look after finishing and executing my work. I'm sure that a homework assignments from an art college should have some standard examples for me to base the results and the execution of my work. And some standard instructions on achieving these assignments. My professors are not always interested in helping to the degree that they should most students feel rather left out while the professors become the groupies of students that are doing very well, as do most art teachers do.

This is my question is there one book that has information about how to use materials and what to expect from things,inks, graphite, charcoal, pastels etc. And I would like to know if such a book has examples of how work should look when it is finished and has examples of things like optical blending and other potential assignments. I need something with a broad amount of knowledge that can be my reference book for all of my assignments in the future.

Last edited by TrevorDemented; September 2nd, 2005 at 11:29 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following