Thanks

Buying oils tommorow ?"Edit" Recommend me some books.

K you all helped me out with what to buy, can you please recommend me some good books on learning to get good with oils, anything and everything, Thanks.

Hey, im going to be picking up some oil paints tommorow, i have never used them before i have used acrylic paint and so on. It would be great if people could tell me somethings to buy to start me out. Type of paint thats good? Brushes.. Stuff to paint with oils on, where to mix my paint - like the type of pallette, uhh anything else you can give me thanks! But please tell me some main things i should have starting out, my budget is around 100 bucks.

Thanks.

Justin.
    Last edited by Zazulathi; August 22nd, 2005 at 09:12 PM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    for 100 bucks, buy online at DickBlick.

Da Vinci Paints
    http://www.dickblick.com/zz015/33/
    Titanium White and Ivory Black, if you want some colors...well...I'd probably recommend Cad(mium) Yellow Light, Cad Red Light and Ultramarine Blue. The Cads are pretty strong, so only put out a little at a time, and also, unless you are painting straight high chroma, they will need to be greyed...Da Vinci paints are highly recommended here at Watts due to the consistancy and quality of the paint at a relatively low price. If you buy student grade, you get crap paint and use more of it anyway...you get what you pay for...

For a palette, get "FREEZER PAPER" at a grocery store and tape it to a surface.

For Brushes, http://www.dickblick.com/categories/acrylicbrushes/ you can use any of the bristles listed, whatever is the cheapest. If they have Robert Simmons at your local art store, those are good for the price. I don't use sables, so I don't know anything about them. You'd be well off to get something like size 1, 2, 4, and 8 in flats, and a 1 round for details. Your flats will turn into filberts as you use them, and rounds...well...what's the point?