Starting a Company... Need your input on contracting artists.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Starting a Company... Need your input on contracting artists.

I recently switched schools to switch my major from Fine Arts / Illustration, to Business Management and Administration. The reason I made this switch (and extended my years in college) is due to my disgust with the people I did work for as an artist paying my way through art school.

While in school, I studied CG art at home, ranging from 3D to 2D to video editing, but I ultimately decided I was unwilling to work any of these jobs under management I didn't respect. After about 3 years of learning, and following the industry through forums like CGTalk and Conceptart, I decided I wanted to start my own CG company.

Now, I am semi-professional in all the fields I studied, but there are tons of gaps in my knowledge. At this point, I am pursuing CG as a pastime hobby doing 2D painting for fun, and studying business heavily.
    After college I want to start a company, and I understand how difficult it is. From the business aspect, I am learning this all in school. So, as enthusiastic as I am, I am very well aware I have a lot to learn.

But my question has more to do with the initial problem I had when I was freelancing in my last school, then with the business aspects.

What do you expect from a company to best accommodate your needs as a professional, while taking into account there is a limited budget to pay you? From negotiation to project completion and payment, what is the most desirable situation for you? Or even; what would you tell a person getting into this line of work to prevent them from doing things which you have grown to hate?