Starting (again) to paint: crits and hints welcome!! :-)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

hello folks
    I am a graphic artist from Rome, Italy; even if I work mainly on graphic design and photography, my true love is still painting; unfortunatley I am self taught in this field and since I stopped practicing since too much time, now I discover myself losing even the yet poor skills I had.
    "never give up" says the motto so I'm starting back from the basics, with very simple exercises: I'd love to have any kind of critique and advice to both improve and motivate myself and keep on practicing:

here are my first ones, done from photo reference:

this one turned out quite well I think, but of course it was the easiest one I could think of:

the second didn't turn out as good as the first, the can floats on bkg and the overall shape has some problems:

any comment and suggestion will be highly appreciated, thanks in advance
    Fabio

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Well hey, I think you’ve noted the most obvious critique I can note with regard to the jar floating off the background.
    I am also not too convinced that the ball is resting on ground either, so there is something to work for.
    Maybe you’re losing the sense of grounding because your working from photo reference, where there is none? Or it is obscured?

Painting still life objects like this, you don’t NEED to work from photo reference, and id love to see some more of your work done from real life objects. Being able to pick them up, feel their texture, and realize their weight upon the surface they stand may really help your rendering.