Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: [[ EMMDOUBLEEW'S THREAD - Noob looking to improve ]]

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

[[ EMMDOUBLEEW'S THREAD - Noob looking to improve ]]

Hi!

This is my first time posting art here, I'm really nervous since I've seen so many great artists regularly posting here.

I'm 15 years old, I go to a technical arts and engineering school that concentrates on metal, wood, and glass workshops and design & architecture. What I'm really looking for is to tone up my skills in life art in order to be able to move on to concept art . So basically, I'm trying to learn the rules in order to break them.

What I'm looking for here, without trying to be too demanding , is helpful and constructive crticism, tips, and possibly pointers to way of improving my specific weaknesses.

I always am really, REALLY appreciative of such comments because I know they are time consuming and that my art is not exactly eye candy yet.

To start off, a bunch of drawings done in the past month, in the order of wich they were scanned, along with personal comments under each one.

This genie was drawn in order to have a little practice with the male torso. His right arm (on the left) is supposed to go back and front again at an angle, so it is forshortened on purpose. Unfortuneatly the illusion isn't that succesful and it looks like his arm is too short.

This face, drawn from a magazine, was just practice on female faces. The tone and shading is pretty much non-existent. Overall, shading is not my strong point so I'm trying to work hard on that.

A quick sketch of a girl to practice female bodies.

A weak attempt at shading. I'm really trying to get it down and would appreciate pointers.

Half a portrait done with a 6B pencil. My scanner is crap and makes it grainy. More study on shading and tone.