Art: A Question about setting perspective points

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: A Question about setting perspective points

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

A Question about setting perspective points

I am a comic artist, so there is a habit that I would usually draw the characters first then plan out the perspective, I do know that does not always work, so sometimes I reverse my process, and plan the perspective first before landing the character on the page.

However......

Sometimes for comic work, doing it the reverse way make the character lose it's weight, and become somewhat alienated from the background, I don't know how to describe it, but I do not like that feel. Because in comic work, character/figure should own alot of weight.

Another problem i have with perspective is.... sometimes I do not know where to set the horozion line. I know how to set and draw most of the perspective from references, and I do know usually horozion line is at eye level angle, but that's not enough to use for comic drawing, I also need to be able to imagine different angles from the reference pictures itself, or sometimes, no references at all.

I tend to set it either too high, or too low.... is there any tips about the judgement of setting the horozion line for perspective? Or is it just a thing one need to figure out on their own by practice and common sense?

I have been wondering. I hope someone here can help.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,669 Times in 5,020 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    You need this.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial

Crash Course for Artists, Illustrators, and Cartoonists, NYC, the 2013 Edition!

"Work is more fun than fun."
    -John Cale

"Art is supposed to punch you in the brain, and it's supposed to stay punched."