ConceptArt.org or Illustration.org?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

ConceptArt.org or Illustration.org?

Hey conceptart community,

What do you guys, Jason and the mods specifically, think about this. I've wondered why a forum set up for concept art really seems structured for illustration. Our two main folders here are 'Finished Work' and 'Sketches/WIP'. Maybe it's just me but as a concept artist I'm always a little confused where to post concept sketches. You know what I mean? They're not doodles but they're also not as developed as a cover illustration I might do.

What if it looked like this:

'Concept Art'
    'Illustration'
    'Sketchbooks'

Maybe under a 'Illustration' folder there would then be a subfolder for WIP. It seems like the current naming structure might have been used because previous art forums like Sijun did it that way but it doesn't seem fitting for a concept art forum, especially THE concept art forum.

What do you guys think?

"The object of art is not to reproduce reality, but to
    create a reality of the same intensity."
    -Giacometti
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    we havea limited number of users, theres alot of em, but still not enough to sustain a kazzilion sub forums. if we only get like... 5 illus in each folder weekly its a bit pointless. The forum is structured by how finished the illustration is. Also sorry to shoot down your concetp but conceptart.org is now a known label, it the same reason a makor company has trouble changing their corporate name and design, because it needs to be readily recognizable, and its an established name, make sense?

Sketch Book
    rook-art.com
    Quote Originally Posted by dogfood
    Sarcasm sometimes grips me like an octopus helmet.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Just to clarify,