Art: How do ya draw "hard-skin", like elephants and rhinos -skin?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

How do ya draw "hard-skin", like elephants and rhinos -skin?

this is a question I've been thinking of since I started drawing scary monsters and creatures.... I've been scanning trough conceptart.org for 4weeks, but havn't found anything about it....

please, I'm pleeding you! help me!, help me!

-an other thing I have problems with is horns and teeth, when i draw them they look so unreal, and fake.... =help?
    -is it possible drawing teeth so they seem see-trough?, how do ya do that....?

Last edited by Hive_minD; July 16th, 2005 at 05:43 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    hard skin is just skin that is has more rinkles and cracks in it. Just find some reference picks dude. Look up elephants and rhinos. Also when shading it its harder so the shading is not as smooth it would have more contrast. hope that helps,

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by s.s.nails
    hard skin is just skin that is has more rinkles and cracks in it. Just find some reference picks dude. Look up elephants and rhinos. Also when shading it its harder so the shading is not as smooth it would have more contrast. hope that helps,
    thx... I'll give it a try....

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    oh and you may want to try to post a pic then people will crit it. it kinda shows what you may or may not be lacking.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    yeah i know.... got a couple of drawings, but a friend of mine is using my scanner... dunno when ill get it.... but when i do, im gonna load up pics...
    can you maybe give me an example? and send a drawing of ""rhino-skin"" -it would meen alot to me, and help me too.

[Hive_minD]

Thanks