Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Page 1 of 42 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,431 Times in 152 Posts
    Follows
    Following

Digital painting in PS

Hi!!

For those of you who are curious, I started this thread for the benefit of Teigrob, who asked me to please explain how I paint in PS. (I borrowed this from her thread. ) Before I go any further, I like to say, I am not an expert and just trying to show Teigrob painting PS is really simple, as there really isn't any guide or rules. Just like any other medium, it's whatever works best for you.

The whole idea was for Teigrob and me to exchange bit of our experiences in different field, she's god with animals and I have an idea how painting works in PS. So while I am trying to show her some basics, I am also trying to learn but this will definitely be more into technicality of PS and some of my habits as well as other tips in PS.

It's all about colours and values as far as painting goes, I am cursed with both, so I will blab on about brushes in PS. For colours and other important fundamentals look at the stickies.
    [EDIT] check Idiot Apathy's Thread for COLOURS!! here
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=53517
    It's have lots of important stuffs in there!

Just briefly, I did this for work but saved the steps for Teigrob. Now one thing you probably notice is there aren't any really thorough tutorial on painting PS, you see lot of steps but not the kind of tutorial most beginners have in mind. I did lot of researching on painting in PS like 2~3 years ago but could never find anything. The reason probably is because painting in is complex and there's no simple way of paiting. But you already knew that. So some steps, brushes and how to work around ps is best I can show. SO some painting steps, here's it is.

Digital painting in PS