How NOT to do stuff (image heavy)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Red face How NOT to do stuff (image heavy)

Hiya peoples, I'm new around here.........at least, I don't think I've joined up before.......I've certainly been lurking for a while. ^_^ I'm still a bit of a newbie, so I thought that this section of the forums was the best place for me, though I've been doing digital art (with active efforts to improve, not just mindless doodling) for almost two years now. ^_^

I've mainly joined up to this site because I'm starving for some good critiques and technical tips. So, as a way of introducing myself, I've posted my latest work in progress. However, I've also been doing this picture in the little spare time I have with my full time job, and I've somehow managed to do this picture in THE MOST ROUND-ABOUT WAY POSSIBLE. So here we go peoples, here's how NOT to go about creating some digital art...........(this should be interesting.............*cough*....)

Here's a couple 'initial sketches'. This is fairly typical for me, when I have noooo idea what picture I want to draw. At this stage, I'm paying very little attention to anatomy, and rather just getting an idea on the page (mistake number one: not spending even a minute on planning what to draw, and then not paying any attention whatsoever to anatomy.....this lack of attention to anatomy is a BAD habit to get into).
    At least by the final drawing, I've figured out that I wanted her to be sitting. O_o

Okay, I've cleaned it up a little. By this stage I have a basic idea of just what's taking place in the picture. By sketch number (6), I've laid down my basic idea, though the composition leaves much to be desired.