lost.. help help

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

lost.. help help

hi.. new person here. i'm looking to put together a concept portfolio and i was wondering if anyone could give me some direction.

i graduated from an art college a few years back, presently i'm animating, modelling. i miss drawing and have decided that this is where i want to be. soooo... i've been trying to put together a portfolio and i'm having trouble, i keep dabbling instead of getting it done. i'm wasting time.. and i should have something idealy in two months. yikes.

anyone have any ideas about how i can get the most out of this community? weekly challenges i can use to my advantage? I am new to this sort of thing. forums etc. this is actually my first post ever. go me. any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated. thanks!!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,017 Times in 286 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    welcome to my friend. i think the biggest no no youre guilty of at the moment (from what youve told us) is that youre trying to force your creativity. ever try to force a child to eat their vegetables, offering a sweet, sugar coated desert as a reward? this is similar in principle. youre willing yourself to complete all these amazing pieces, seeing it as a chore more than a joyful journey.

youre focussed on the end product and, whilst it is good to be realistic and plan ahead, often this is not viable with art. in my experience, if you are devoid of artistic inspiration, then you arent going to turn out anything of actual worth.