Storyboard Job Interview *UPDATE*
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Storyboard Job Interview *UPDATE*

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Storyboard Job Interview *UPDATE*

Hey everyone,
    A mate of mine that I studied film with (and who has since gone on to work on some pretty big films) messaged me this morning asking if I'd be interested in some storyboard work. Having studied film and now studying Fine Art, this is the exact kind of career I want to get into. I obviously told him I was interested.

Tonight I got a call from the AD of the production.
    The job is to storyboard three music videos. The first one will be used to get funding for the second two, which means the first job is without pay.
    I'm pretty confident I can do the work but the interview is tomorrow and I need to get a portfolio together.

All I've got is the storyboards I did for my own short film about three years ago which were good for my usage and the use of the crew but they weren't professional really. Otherwise I can show them my sketchbooks and some stuff I've done at art school of life drawing and things like that...I don't really have any sequential stuff prepared.

This is my first shot at a paying art gig and I'm gonna do my best but I think I need to lift the production value of my stuff in terms of professional presentation. Any tips on how to prepare and present good storyboards?
    They didn't go into much about storyboarding at film school- at least not enough to be useful at a professional level. Fortunately I've seen a few professional storyboards first hand so I've got a rough idea of the layout and visual language they use.

I need as much help as I can get because they're shooting a test shoot this weekend and then moving onto the first shoot apparently. I need to hit the ground running on this.

Thanks to anyone who can give me tips and help!

Last edited by Marcatili; July 6th, 2005 at 10:29 AM.
    Sydney artist Luke Marcatili