Phil "Osirus" Guest

Oh this must be the 'talk to a wall' forum:)

I think I've been heading in the wrong direction. I was trying to model in 3D every cool concept that came to my mind because I'm not very good at all at drawing (which sucks because it's the only thing I really enjoy to do and always thought I would draw comic books when I was a little kid).

It's a bad idea because stuff like hair, grass, water, clouds, ect are extremely difficult to make in 3D. Let alone the fact that everything takes a millenium to model. So I suppose I'll try to draw again but I just need to know where to start. I have never drawn on anything else than white paper with an HB pencil. All I have is a mouse, so no tablet yet and I'm wondering if I should invest in one as I wonder if I'll actually get better or if it will be a waste once more:p

Please enlighten me!:god:

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    vudu Guest
    The wall's speaking to ya

To start drawing you just need... to start yeah, no special tricks or some secret art tecniques are needed rite now. I myself spent a lot of time foolin' around thinking of how nice I would draw when I learn how to... the only way here is TO START. Don't get yourself stuck in a moment

But... to help you a little - my advice: buy some books... Anathomy, basic academical tecniques, perspective drawing, coloring (anything you find interesting). If you're going to create concepts it is very useful IMHO to have some encyclopedia on _everything_ : to create smth new it's important to know what was done before you...

BTW white paper and HB are all you need at first

Phil "Osirus" Guest
    Thanks for replying! I have a big problem when I draw, I draw a bunch of lines over one another. Not sure how to explain it, but it's as if I just scribble. When I draw it's like *lines* *lines* *lines* *lines* all over, no nice lines. It looks like my drawing is made of hair. Not sure if you get the picture.