View Poll Results: Do you draw overhand or writing-style?

Voters
31. You may not vote on this poll
  • Overhand

8 25.81%
  • Writing-style

23 74.19%
    Thanks

Question Do you draw overhand or writing-wise?

A couple months ago I started drawing overhand, that is, holding my pencil or pen or whatever perpendicular to the line of my fingers and not how I hold it when I write. Barbara Bradley advises this in her book "Drawing People" and I think Andrew Loomis does too somewhere.

It took a little getting used to but it has helped me quite a bit. I have a little less precision, but I find this makes my lines a little more alive-looking. it means much more action comes from the arm and wrist than from the hand itself, and as a result I get fewer hand cramps. it also encourages me to leave my pencil on the paper which gives the drawing more continuity. it's hard to describe, I'll have to wait until I can post "before and after" pictures to really show it. I still suck, but I feel like this is decent step in the right direction and I'd strongly recommend it.

But, aside from me I don't know who else actually uses this. it may be taught in kindergarten for all I know.
    So, do you draw overhand, with the medium between the thumb and the ends of all four fingers or between thumb and forefinger (how most people write)?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    mm-- I tried it right after reading your post -- the effect was that I was drawing lighter! (and not the angry, hard-stokes I want to exorcize from my habit)

Though I'm not sure if I'm doing it right (pen parallel to index finger?) -- could you post a drawing of the position?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,185 Times in 755 Posts