School Angst
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: School Angst

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

School Angst

I am a 2nd semester college student at a junior college, currently working at gaining my associates degree before I transfer to an art school. There are a few schools that I'm looking at currently, and I would like some input from all of you on them as you probably have a little bit more knowledge than I do. I have not visited any of these schools yet, and would like to narrow down my selection before I do so.

1. Cal Arts
    The head of multimedia at the school I'm in recommended this to me. My issues with the school are:
    • Portfolio requirements: I'm good and I have a strong base. I'm just not sure that I am the level of quality they want at Cal Arts.
    • location: LA isnt my type of town i'm more of a NoCal type of guy at heart...less traffic and such
    • Length of course: I'll be at community college for 2 years, I"m not sure i want to spend another 4 years in study. However, i graduated from high school early so it would not place me behind others my age.

2. Ringling
    • Location: florida sounds cool, but relocating cross country would be tough. I'd be willing to do it if the school is that good though.
    • Portfolio Requirements: Not to sound elitist, but I was really dissapointed by Ringling at portfolio day. The guy practically said everyone that came up to him as great and could get into the school. Alot of people's work wouldnt have gotten an A in my high school beginning art classes. So i am wondering how dissilusioned i should be by their level of acceptance.
    • foundation drawing: how much emphasis do they put on concept development and non cg approaches in their CA program?
    • General ed - i am willing to bet that I could test out of alot of their GE with the classes that I am taking or have already taken.

3. VFS