Left brain, right brain, roommates?

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Left brain, right brain, roommates?

Hello all.
    I have been posting here for a few months and have received inspiration as well as some very good direction on becoming a better artist. I would like to open a new thread to discuss a topic that has been bothering me.

From what I understand, the right brain is the artistic/creative/imaginative side and the left brain is supposed to be the logical/intellectual side. I am ambidextrous so I don't know how the left/right brain thing works out for me, however I have noticed some things.

I am a musician, a poet and a wannabe artist, but I have found that in my previous artistic attempts, that my mechanical side seems to be able to learn how to go through the motions (ex. Musical playing, writing, drawing) but the imaginative/creative side doesn't fully manifest. I am able to take a piece a music and duplicated it. I can put words on a paper. I draw lines in my sketch book while looking at something and reproducing it (sometime better than others). But it seems like the wierd, bizarre, creative imaginative side that I can see and hear in my head has a problem bridging the gap as it were. It seems like the only time that creative part of me is fully tapped is when my emotional angst overwhelms me and my analytical side shuts down. But that isn't my normal manner.

Does anyone else experience this? If so, how do you get around it or learn how to work with it?

Whatever you do, don't look at my Sketchbook and Painting Thread!

"I reject your reality and substitute my own" - Adam Savage, Mythbusters
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    smoke a joint and your right side will be active as never before.