Thanks

Any pro comic book artists here?

Hi, I'd just like to know how it is to work at companies like Marvel or DC.

Is it a friendly environment? Or is it stressful and over-competitive?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    im sure all the above.....

Thanks
    Well, I'm not a pro comic artist yet , but I'm not sure I understand the question really. Most comic artists work from home or a private studio, and most of the contact with the company, usually the editor/writer/etc., would be by phone or maybe email. So there's not much of an environment that I can think of. Any stress would likely come in the form of deadlines though. But as long as you do reliable, consistent work, on time, I don't think you'd have many problems.

You might try asking at PencilJack, Ledheavy, or Artxilla since those are more comic-related forums. There are a few people here who've done pro work, but I think they're usually either with smaller publishers or with Image and the like.

Edit: But then again maybe I don't know what I'm talking about.

Thanks
    Artists on Comic Art

Each artist profiled details their history, their big break, their work methods, and their general over-all impression about the comic book industry. Very interesting and educational read.

Thanks
    oh.......

I always assumed that all artists at Marvel or DC worked in the same building hehe.

thanks

Thanks
    Never posted here before occasional lurker but couldn't help it then I saw this question.

I've interned at both companies and worked as an assistant editor in one of them. It's extremely competitive. I've seen submissions that were technically perfect but were thrown out or never given a callback (filed away but never to be pulled again). It takes more than skill to get noticed.