Question about concept basis...

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question about concept basis...

Howdy,
    I'm an architectural student and I had a question about the design concepts of future architecture. Most of the buildings I see are round/dome shaped, or they have a lot of curves to the building. In the rendered pictures of them I think they're beautiful... but...

I have an assignment that is really out there(aka almost no restrictions) anyways I started to design a building based off of a piece by Sebastien Rossi. That is a curved dome structure, but the floor plan is particularly hard. In a curved building there just seems to be such a large amount of wasted space. Furniture is hard to come by that is meant to be put against a curved wall, etc. Unless the structure is epic sized where curve of the outside arc is almost negligible... how is this stuff suppose to work?

I'm a big fan of sci-fi books, especially the ones I refer to as hard-Sci-Fi. Where the advancements are based off of todays research. I can't find a reason why we would shape our buildings like that. Any thoughts?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following