Newbie needs some help w/ drawing tablets

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Newbie needs some help w/ drawing tablets

I wasn't sure where to post this question, so if a mod can direct it into the proper category, feel free.

I'm looking to move from traditional media to digital.

Any recommendations on drawing tablets? I would like to maintain a pencil line quality to my work, but have the ability to add digital color and effects. I've never used a tablet before and I want something that's good quality with a quick learning curve.

Any software recommendations? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I use a Wacom graphire 3, and I love it. decent amount of pressure levels, and it's very responsive. make sure to get the best quality. There's no point in wasting cash on a tablet that you won't use because it blows

* Help a CA artist! Visit the Constructive Critique section! *

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Unless you have a solid understanding and hand in traditional media to begin with, going digital will not make you any better an artist. If you don't fall into that group of people who think digital art=easy and looks great! then ignore that part.

I've used both the Graphire2 and Intuos2, which I still currently use.

Graphire is a great starting tablet, cheaper, but with nearly the same feel of the more expensive Intuos. I did notice that Graphire seemed to work better for just digitally coloring scanned pencil linework, and had some issues with straight lines compared to the Intuos. This may have just been the one I was using.