Dual Monitor with Wacom help

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    10,007,461
    Thanks
    332
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 254 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Dual Monitor with Wacom help

    I just hooked up a second monitor recently and one of the issues i am running into is that...

    even though i have the Display Area on: Monitor 1
    the wacom still effects 2 inches of the second monitor.

    this isn't much of a problem with painter 9 but when i am using open canvas i noticed when i draw the lines actually show up to the left even though my cursor is in the middle....

    anyone have an idea of what i can do?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SF
    Posts
    1,010
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 53 Times in 39 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    :| sadly, it happens to me too. photoshop is just dandy, but OC is a cocksmack. whenever i do OC, i just turn off my second monitor... but i have no idea why.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    10,007,461
    Thanks
    332
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 254 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    i still can't figure out how to turn off my second monitor and having it turned back onwithout it prompting me with a need for restarting..

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester NY, US
    Posts
    444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Right click on desktop, go to settings, click the second monitor and then un-check 'Extend my windows desktop onto this monitor'.

    Of course, whatever you've got open on that monitor will be shoved onto your one monitor. And it's a pain in the ass to do that everytime.

    I have a similar problem, although I'm not an open canvas user, but my current monitor resolution is a different aspect ratio (wider than usual) so sometimes my stuff comes out a little squished from the top to bottom.

    Also, my tablet is freakin' TINY (4 3/8" x 6").

    I think also that setting the monitor to the same aspect ratio as your tablet ought to do the trick. Of course, the drawback may be that there's some dead space on your tablet.

    My tablet doesn't even work on my secondary monitor, which sucks cuz that's where I keep my history and layers pallettes on the inside edge of the second monitor. Oddly though, the tablet mouse works on both. I don't use it though, cuz it sucks, and I've got a better corded one that I use.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    10,007,461
    Thanks
    332
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 254 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    sigh
    when i uncheck extend my windows desktop onto this monitor and hit ok, it goes to 1 monitor

    but when i try to change it back to 2 monitors... it makes me restart. this is far from what i want to do daily.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rochester NY, US
    Posts
    444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Sounds like you've got one damn fine graphics glitch.

    How're you running the second monitor? I assume you've got some bitchin graphics card with two vga outputs? Well, they're not all that special nowadays.


    Anyway, I'd say do the usual pain in the ass reinstall-every-goddamn-driver-you-can-get-your-hands-on type of thing.

    See, I did mine the cheap-ass way. I got an oldskool craphics card (pci) threw it into my case, shook it around for a couple minutes, and when I restarted it, I click blindly and typed in my password, then it got picked up as a plug and play device, and bam, dual monitors. For like $30 (incl monitor) I kinda want to do a third. Just to, y'know, have three monitors.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Have you tried to use the “click top left and bottom right corner” to define your active Wacom area? If not then open the Wacom utility and find the option for this and click those corners on the monitor you want to use ... sorry for that crappy explanation, english is not my native language. Anyway, I use this method and it works fine.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside
Register

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
The Art Department
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook