Art: New member's Doomguy
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: New member's Doomguy

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

New member's Doomguy

This is a pencil drawn, Photoshop coloured picture of the doomguy (the guy from doom) I gave him sleeves since it seemed a bit odd for marines ot go around with no sleeves with high tech armor. Took me ages, not because I work slow but I couldn't get round to doing it, but now its finished!
    Constructive criticism would be appreciated, I'm quite new to the Photoshop colouring field.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Needs more of a background than what is shown. Unless he is standing in a big open arena I think the flare light would light up more things around him. Not brightly, but you could see a hint of things.

His proportions look decent but I would suggest working on his face more. It looks squashed and a bit wide. Looks like you took one side of it and flipped it.

On the lighting, the areas of his body in the light are going to be brighter near his feet and less as the light travels up. Therefore, I think his face and hands are too bright. It wouldn't hurt to add some brighter highlights to his boots. Work on that flare a little more too. Took me a second to figure out what it was. Looks like you have a little red light hitting his shoulder. This is great and I think you should take it a little further.

Also, it looks like you are using a mouse. This is fine but it takes more patience to get a smooth look. Learn how to use the Pen tool and make path selections to isolate the areas you are coloring. Might help. Try to get a straighter line on the flare and the ceiling lights.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following