Digital Painting for beginners-INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL-

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hello all,
    My aim for this thread is to finish a digital painting from sketch to completion-post the progress at each step-and describe my techniques.
    The kicker is I would like this to be an interactive tutorial, hopefully from some of you members who are Skilled at digital painting since I am fairly new to it.
    All manners of crits and comments are welcome from anatomy to colors, but i will be concentrating on the technical aspects of digital painting more for this excersize. thus hopefully not only me, but many member can get a good sense of things, the proper steps, tools to use, down to the nitty gritty (you know describing what brush setting you used etc.)
    I will be using painter 9 for this, and will be starting in the program, as I want to get to the actual painting part. My ultimate goal is to become more knowledged in the realm of digital painting.
    Hopefully this thread will help more people than just me, I welcome all participation as well.

OK enough of my ranting, Ill start posting images....I will also try to post/update as much as possible to keep this fresh. So thanks for reading....here we go!

Remember all constructive advice is welcome! all I want is to come out of this with a satisfactory experience, and a little base knowledge on how to go about some of this!

800x600 Working at 300 dpi Oh and I am also just getting used to using a wacom. so thats another learning curve!

Step one
    inital sketch. Used a felt tip art marker, size 2.5 opacity 45 or so

Step two
    fill colors. girl brownish skin creature blueish soft airbrush used

Step three
    starting some shadows. sticking with soft airbrush at very low opacties and using like a midnight blue color on a layer set to multiply