Tutorial Request - Bring Pencil Concepts to an Inked/Shaded state
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Tutorial Request - Bring Pencil Concepts to an Inked/Shaded state

I really don't know if this is a viable tutorial or not...

But I somehow have to turn my normal pencil concepts to an inked and shaded state - something which I have no experience with (other than ballpoint pen doodle-sketches).

Perhaps you could take one of the building concepts from this other gallery of mine at: http://elfwood.lysator.liu.se/loth/a...e/afoote.html.

I doubt that I will include the actual building layouts - just the 3d views of the buildings.

Also if you could include a good list of kinds of inks/grey markers that I can go out and pick up at my local art store ( I hope we have one up here ) that would be great.

Thanks immensly for any and all advice and/or tutorials...

- Aaron

"There are two causes for human suffering: man's tendency to conceptualize and thereby impute values, and the existence of desire." - The Tao Te Ching
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    you've got some nice work on your site, Aaron!

Line work is a pretty deep subject. Fortunately, there's a great (classic) book by Arthur Guptill called "Rendering in Pen and Ink," and I think it would be just the ticket for you. It's only $18 at Amazon, and it really does a great job of describing most of what's involved with line work. Best of all, I think it would be a perfect fit for your architectural-style renderings.

A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of
    little minds - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Thumbs up Thanks

Thank you very much - I will definetly look into purchasing the book. I recently got a job at a local art store while searching for supplies so now I can even afford some of the markers, pens, etc that I need. :cool: