Thanks

Help with Surfing Dog Logo

Hello,

I am brand new to the world of art as a whole. I never took any classes and the extent of my knowledge comes from online tutorials I’ve watched over the past month. It is a new and exciting journey for me and I am working towards eventually selling digital prints of my illustrations. I have decided I will name my art studio “Fin + Fetch Creations” which comes from my passion for surfing and dogs. I made this logo on Affinity Designer on my iPad and I need help on the following:

1. I want to give it a vintage feel. I realize it requires some texture but I do not know what direction to take with it

2. I realize it is not a bad looking drawing but it still feels very primitive and not very professional but I cannot put my finger on why

3. If there is any advice on anything from my art, to any tutorials I should check out, or anything you think would be beneficial to the start of my art journey, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you very much for your time!

Ed
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Your biggest issue is that your logo looks like generic vector clip-art. A big hit, especially if you're going for a vintage feel. Look up vintage logos, and you find a lot of bold type treatments, textures, and a very minimal selection of colors. There are too many examples, just google "vintage logos" and you'll see what I mean. You definitely need to have "Fin+Fetch Creations" somewhere on this logo, and have it as a major component of the design. The illustration itself should take the second seat. The name isn't really doing anything for me, but the concept of a dog on a surfboard is interesting enough. Although, when I think of something like that I imagine a radder design. The dog could be upright, tongue out, wearing sunglasses. That kind of thing.

TL;DR

1. The art looks like clip-art.