Art: Excercises for a complete newbie

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Excercises for a complete newbie

I'm looking for a kind soul to give me some detailed excercises that can get me started on drawing from the ground up... assume I know nothing and need to learn everything.

for example.

what should I be doing first... a couple pages of simple shapes? lines? really fast sketches or thumbnails of figures?

everytime I try to practice I get discouraged because the task Im trying seems too hard for me, but I dont know where I should start... so I can just say "yes this seems too hard but I should be able to do it" and then move up from there... its hard to explain what Im looking for... but Im sure someone will understand

basically I want some examples of what I should do as I progress from the very start... and if you have examples of each one that would be great too... (like if I should do some quick form drawings, what they should look like and what things I should focus on...)

yeah I know Im basically asking for art school in a forum post but I believe in you guys lol... no seriously, I dont need professional instruction out of this, just things I should be doing as a complete beginner... tired of drawing like crap... need something to keep me busy on those long bus rides.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Well since you said that everytime you draw you get discouraged because what you think your drawing is too complex at the moment. Start with very simple things. Draw from references simple things like arms or a leg and keep on studying that. And try not to burn yourself out, go out and look at other people's artwork and just remember that all have been where you were and you're just as capable at being excellent as anybody here.

Thanks