Thanks

From 0 to concept artist in 2 years: possible?

Self-taught. Due to circumstances i have precisely 21 month to become good enough to get a job. I think I'm a faster learner than average person and practice average 6 hours a day (sometimes extra). What are my chances of success?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,060 Times in 842 Posts
    Impossible to answer that one. I respect your belief that you are learning faster than average, but I have seen more than enough people in many fields who believe they are exceptional, while they are average, like most others (yes, that is the meaning of 'average'). Also, 6 hours a day is not a whole lot. It all depends on your ability to pick up the various skills, i.e. muscle memory, line quality, gesture, anatomy, perspective modelling in space, design, composition, colour theory, perceiving values and colours, mixing values and colours, and a bit of storytelling and history, to mention just a few. And even then, getting a job is not just about being good, it is also a matter of geography, social skills and luck.

It could help if you show us where you are now, and how long it took you to get there. I have yet to meet someone who became employable in two years: I know they exist, but they are rare.
    Grinnikend door het leven...

Sketchbook Blog

4. The Following User Says Thank You to eezacque For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Why can't you get a regular job?

Thanks
    Sure. Why not?

Name:  outlook.jpg
Views: 1256
Size:  6.5 KB
    My commentary is a gift to you.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by eezacque View Post

It could help if you show us where you are now, and how long it took you to get there. I have yet to meet someone who became employable in two years: I know they exist, but they are rare.
    Fair enough. I will start posting my progress in few months, so we'll see. (Now I'm getting the basics out of the way.) Hopefully I prove to be the one

Thanks
    Hi