Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

akky111 - Composition 1.1

Hello all,

My name is Akky and this is my Composition 1.1 thread. I was a total noob to digital painting and I had a hard time painting. I've never really painted in my life, not even digital, but I'm positive that I've got what it takes, like everyone, and if I keep at it, I'll definitely improve

I initially tried to keep my paintings to one hour, but I couldn't put in all the values to my satisfaction within that time. It took me nearly 4 hours on each one. I know it is supposed to be time-bound, and I'm trying to cut down the time I take for each painting. I have compositional issues and tend to mess up analyzing the masses and laying them out properly. I can totally see what's wrong after I have completed the painting!! But, more than perfection I am trying to work on my consistency that will eventually get me closer to perfection.

Please review and comment. Good day.
    Name:  Rembrandt - Portrait of Nicolaes Ruts.jpg
Views: 1656
Size:  99.6 KB

Last edited by akky111; July 5th, 2016 at 03:10 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
Views: 2143
Size:  99.6 KB

This was my first painting study, ever!! It felt like I was gonna crash and burn, but I spent about 4 hours to study this. I know it is meant to be time-bound for a reason and I am definitely working on doing this faster once I'm used to it.

I never studied art properly and took some time to figure out whose painting am I gonna study first. I always liked how Rembrandt created interesting contrasts in his images, so I wanted to do the first couple of studies on his paintings.

The things that I noticed while working on this study:

1. The way he inter-played between light and dark. Just amazing.