Thread: Got Questions?

Thanks

Got Questions?

Hey folks!
    This part of the forum is a bit vacant, but I just wanted to throw this out there. I've been in the animation industry for 7 years, (and 3 years of college before that). I'm happy to answer questions for people!
    *Note, I'm a 2D animator so my 3D knowledge is limited, but I will do my best in that department.
    *Second note, I live in Ontario, Canada, so consider that if you're in another country popularity of various software and pipelines may be quite different.
    Most common questions I see:

Software - There are lots of great options out there. Keep in mind that big studios often have heavily moded versions of software or they have their own program. It's not 100% necessary to know the specific program in a studio, for example Flash animators do get hired on Harmony shows, but they are GOOD animators, so studios consider it reasonable to swallow a few weeks of training them. Learning the fundamentals is more important than what product you start with.

2D - Personally I like Toonboom's Harmony and it's what I use at work. I've also worked on other Toonboom products over the years so I can answer lots of questions that are specifically for their animation products.
    Flash is still quite popular in the TV animation biz, I have friends who animate in Photoshop, and After Effects at work and I've heard good things about Anime Studio Pro, though I don't know anyone who is currently working with this software in my area.
    3D - Maya, 3D studio max and Blender pop into my head.
    Compositing - Nuke and After Effects

Books - Animator's survival kit - always mentioned for a reason.
    Cartoon Animation, Preston Blair - You'll find these on a lot of desks in the studio.
    Elemental magic, Gilland - if you're interested in special effects at all, this is the best book ever.